The Setting for a Fantasy

As I said before, the premise of my story came from a dream. It was quite vivid and epic as well. Most times, I never remember my dreams after I wake. This one was definitely the exception to the rule. When I woke, I had enough time to get up from my bed, find a piece of paper, and begin scribbling down everything I could possibly remember.

But the dream is the end.

The story I have built to lead up to the amazing conclusion that is based on the dream was created over the next several months after I woke that night. The story went through many changes during the creation process. Originally, the setting of the story took a more medieval setting. The main peoples of the story were from different countries in a world that was essentially the battleground for the warring spiritual realms of Light and Dark. There were no modern vehicles (cars, aircraft, etc.) as technology in this world had not really advanced very far. There were two warring countries: Niceria and Carekren. The heroes of the story came from Niceria and the villains were natives of Carekren. The war between the beings of Light and Dark in the past was fought with little regard to the humans who populated the land. However, at the time my story began, the supernatural beings made direct contact with the humans. Their purpose: to use the humans to fight their war for them. The number of “angels” and “demons” were dropping considerably from the long and drawn out war. Therefore, they granted the humans powers in order to continue the fighting on their behalf. The Light took the side of Niceria, the Dark Carekren.

I ran into a problem when creating the structure of the story behind this setting. It was a little limiting and claustrophobic. I needed more room to move. For that reason, I took to the skies.

The next version of the story was very similar a premise as the first, only it took place much further in the future. Niceria became a planet all on its own, as did Carekren. The Kingdom of Niceria fought against the Voraxian Empire (the Vorax inhabited Carekren and a few other worlds as well). At this point, the story took a drastic turn toward the “sci-fi” realm. Technology was extremely advanced. Their was nothing left of the medieval culture I had originally built. At this point, I cut the idea that all humans were given supernatural powers. My “Champion” idea was structured so that only one person was given powers from each side. So, one was given the powers of Light, and one was given the powers of Dark.

The biggest problem I had with this version was that it went too far away from the supernatural fantasy I truly desired. The original way was 100% supernatural fantasy, whereas the second, more futuristic version was now about 95% sci-fi and only 5% supernatural fantasy.

It was back to the drawing board for me. The next phase of the story I took would end up becoming the template for the version it is today. Next time, I will reveal what I chose. Thank you so much for reading! Feel free to leave me some comments on here and tell me what you think. You have any ideas how this can be better? Or perhaps you are enjoying this and want to know more! Just let me know so I can make this better for everyone who is interested!

Until next time!

promote my blog

Leave a comment