Back Again…?

With the insanity that has been my work schedule over the past 5 or 6 years, my blogging time has clearly taken a hit.  In addition, finding any time to work on the book has been difficult. Turns out, being married, having a son (who is now 4 years old and HUGE), being in the Air Force (I’ve been promoted to Technical Sergeant and recently selected to commission) and finding a number of temporary hobbies has filled up my schedule.

I have attempted, on numerous occasions, to sit down and pour over the story.  After not writing religiously for a few years requires one to review contents of their work to remember what they wrote.  Yes.  It has been so long that I actually forgot much of the book’s finer details.  Every time I start rereading, I find a number of things I don’t like, many that I love and several surprises – I like when I read something I forgot, especially when I love it!

So, why am I back now?  My audience is all but gone, I’m not any less busy than I was before (probably, I’ve never been busier in my entire life) and I won’t be able to write new content from book 2 until I review book 1 in its entirety.  So what’s the point?

Answer:  I’m going to make the time.

In 2006, I began this journey… piecing together a story, a universe, based solely on a dream.  I spent a great deal of time that first year, writing like a fiend and drafting the entire first book. The amount of work I put into it was astounding – and I, in good conscience, cannot allow my hard work and dedication to go to waste.

So I have decided to make myself a schedule.  I will set targets for myself, deadlines to keep my progress on track.  What’s stopping me from quitting or taking another half-decade hiatus?  I will use this blog to keep me on target.  I will summarize my impressions of each chapter, document areas I want re-written (without too many spoilers, of course) and keep myself accountable.

The tale of Kyosora cannot… and will not… go unwritten.  As arrogant as this may sound, the world deserves to listen to my story.  I don’t want to be the reason they never get that chance.

A new post will be written here soon, in which I hope I will be able to articulate my short-term goals.  As I will not be rereading blog posts (doing that will just be taking time away from working on the actual book), there MAY be contradictions about what I say going forward and what I may have said in the past regarding the book.  They are not intentional.  Memory is a fickle thing, and mine is filled with a lot more things now than it was 5 or 6 years ago.

For more updates, please follow me:

on Twitter @Devavudoodoo

or my Facebook

Leave a Reply

