Ok… Let’s do this!

It’s blog time about a very special project of mine.

On July 2006, an idea sprung into my mind. An idea, that hit me as I woke from a very graphic dream. No, I did not decide to create a religion like others in the past that shared that similar experience. I realized the dream itself was probably due to eating some not-so-good-idea tacos (oh but they were good), playing too many fantasy video games, watching too many outlandish movies, and reading too many sci-fi novels. After waking from the dream, I thanked the tacos and rushed to find the nearest piece of paper and pen and began writing down everything I could remember. You see, I have this problem of forgetting my dreams within minutes. Once their gone, their gone for good.

I could NOT let that happen.

The epic-ness of the dream was too grand to just forget. After scibbling down as much of the dream I could, I went back to sleep. When I woke up, I re-read everything I had written and was amazed. Sure enough, I had no recollection of ever having the dream. I did remember waking and writing, just I had zero memory of actually having said dream.

Long story short-ish, I spent the next several weeks forming a small story around the dream. It was originally supposed to be a short story that I wanted to keep for myself. Nothing too grandiose. Nothing ultra fantastic. Just, I wanted to have a little proof that I had an imagination!

The first full sentence outline I composed was over 10 pages long. The kicker, I wasn’t even finished with the story. You see, I realized as I began to form the story that the dream I had was the end. My plan was to finish the story with the end of the dream. After 10 pages of a full sentence outline, I had not even come close to where the dream began.

I decided that I should can the “short story” idea and trade it for a full length novel.

I began full blown writing of the novel late August of 2006. I had two or three chapters finished… and the a distraction fell on me in the form of a woman. My writing ceased for several months. . . Sometimes, I worried that I would never pick up writing again. Everytime I thought of the story, a pang of guilt would stab my heart. I would shake my head and push it off saying “I’m in love! I have better things to do now!”

That’s enough for today. Next time, I will reveal what happened next and (maybe) talk a little about what this story actually entails.

Thanks so much for reading! See you next time!

Leave a comment